guides &
Read my experience
Ruth for Find a Nursing Home
Continuing care
home advice care options types of care
types of care


Types of care

Residential homes will provide for a range of situations.  These different types of care include:

  • Elderly Mentally Ill Nursing (EMI Nursing)

Elderly Mentally Ill or Infirm is a broad term used to help classify a range of illnesses affecting the elderly.  The most common mental infirmities in older people are dementia-related conditions, such as Alzheimer's disease. Once diagnosed you will need to search for Homes that have a separate EMI Nursing wing or unit and the level of care required (eg 24 hour nursing) will vary according to the individual. 

  • Dementia care

Many homes offer specialist dementia care, catering for conditions such as Alzheimer’s. This care may be available in a residential care home or a nursing home, or in a separate dementia unit. 

  • Specialist care

These will be residential homes or nursing homes specialising in care for people with one or more condition, such as Parkinson’s and Huntington's disease. 

  • Respite care

Respite care is a short-term move to give a primary carer, such as a family member, a break. Caring is both incredibly hard work and stressful so this is a vital form of care.  It’s usually planned and can offer fresh social contact, a welcome change of surroundings and access to services not always available at home. Some care homes or nursing homes will have specific rooms available for respite care, whereas others will only take people on respite care if they have vacant beds. 

  • Convalescent / post-operative care

This applies to short-term care for when someone has been discharged from hospital and needs time to recover from an illness or operation. Nursing homes generally offer convalescent and post-operative care (due to the skilled nurses employed), while residential care homes only generally offer convalescent care. 

  • Young Physically Disabled care (YPD)

Some care homes are registered to offer residential or nursing care for people with physical disabilities who are unable to live in their own homes. 'Younger' may refer to any age from 18 up to 65 years old, so you should check with individual homes to ensure they can meet your needs. 

  • Terminally ill/Palliative care

This is active, compassionate care for the chronically and terminally ill, directed towards improving the quality of life. Palliative care particularly focuses on the control of pain and managing the symptoms of illness. These specialist approaches include the individual, the family, carers, and friends and usually extend to bereavement and grief support.